Rajorshi Chakraborti - novelist, essayist and short story writer...
about the author

I'm so pleased to share the news that my latest novel, The Man Who Would Not See, should be out in Australia and NZ in March 2018, published by Penguin Random House.  

A new story, The Man of the Moment, is now available to download for readers everywhere at the Juggernaut website. I've also put together a list of stories and articles that are free to read online. You can find them at Tehelka, Turbine, The Punch, Earthen Lamp JournalSport, The Hindu, Northeast ReviewAntiserious and Amazon.

I'm delighted to be a part of the Write Where You Are (WWYA) Trust here in Wellington as of late 2016. Our aim is to increase the accessibility of creative writing among groups that face barriers to participation in the arts. I'm currently part of the team offering classes at the men's and women's prisons in the region.

I'm honoured to have been asked to join The Punch magazine as a contributing editor. Please visit their fantastic website for an absolute feast of writing on arts and culture.

An article on moving to and settling in Wellington, New Zealand, in The Hindu, December 2016.

An article by the critic Jai Arjun Singh, published shortly after our conversation at the Chandigarh Literature Festival, 2014, in which he discusses a novel and an essay of mine.

I have a poem in the latest issue of Pix, a photography quarterly published from India. I was commissioned to write a short text to accompany a set of photographs by Aditya Kapoor. You can view the whole issue here, and read my poem 'Sworn Witnesses Said' by scrolling down to Pg 46.

Mumbai Rollercoaster was one of five books to have received an 'honourable mention' in the Children's Writing category of the Economist-Crossword Book Awards, 2011. 

Between May and early August 2012, Mumbai Rollercoaster reached, and stayed at, No 3 on The Hindu bestseller list.

A story of mine, Knock, Knock, won second prize at the 27th annual Sunday Star-Times Short Story Award competition in New Zealand. The results were announced in November 2011.




facebookemail raj